2018-19 Banks Prize winner Michelle Bouey. Photo by Dahlia Katz.

The Syd & Shirley Banks Prize

This annual opportunity is open to musical theatre artists under 30 years of age who are under-exposed in Toronto and its surrounding areas. The Syd & Shirley Banks Prize for Emerging Musical Theatre Artists generously provides two musical theatre artists the opportunity to advance their careers through financial assistance, mentorship, and increased exposure.

*Submissions for the 2019-20 Syd & Shirley Banks Prize for Emerging Musical Theatre Artists are now closed.

The Prize

The Prize

Two emerging artists are awarded the prize through an annual open audition process, each winner receiving:

1. A $1,000 cash prize;

2. A cabaret created by and starring both winners;

3. An opportunity to perform alongside leading professional artists as a part of The Musical Stage Company’s 2019-20 season; and

4. Mentorship with industry experts throughout the 2019-20 season.



Who is Eligible?

All musical theatre artists are eligible if they meet the following criteria:

  • They are under 30 years of age
  • They reside in Ontario
  • They are under-exposed in theatre in Toronto & GTA

We are actively seeking submissions from actors of all backgrounds, abilities, and ethnicities and we are committed to diversity and inclusion within this submission process. 

Both Equity and non-equity individuals are eligible to submit.



Audition information for the 2020-21 Syd & Shirley Banks Prize for Emerging Musical Theatre Artists will be released in Spring 2020. 

If you have any questions about this process or would like to stay in the loop, please send an email to Robyn, at robyn@musicalstagecompany.com

Past Recipients

Past Recipients

2018-19: Brandon Antonio & Michelle Bouey

2017-18: George Krissa & Celine Tsai

2016-17: Jahlen Barnes & Arinea Hermans

2015-16: Brittany Banks & Colin Simmons

2014-15: Alessia Lupiano & Graham Scott Fleming

2013-14: Dana Jean Phoenix & Jordan Till

2012-13: Alexis Gordon & Andres Sierra

Leading Lights

The Banks Family