In The News


Video Round-Up: Pulitzer Prize-Winning Musicals

Did you know that although the Pulitzer Prize for Drama has been awarded since 1918, only nine musicals have won the prestigious prize?  NEXT TO NORMAL won the Pulitzer Prize in 2010 for “expanding the scope of subject matter for musicals,”  having been the first musical to directly discuss and showcase mental health and how it can affect a family.

Check out the entire list of Pulitzer Prize-winning musicals below and join us at the CAA Theatre, April 26 – May 19, 2019, as we return to the Off-Mirvish Series with NEXT TO NORMAL. 

Of Thee I Sing (Pulitzer Awarded in 1932)

Music: George Gershwin
Lyrics: Ira Gershwin
Book: George S. Kaufman & Morrie Ryskind
Broadway Debut: 1932
Production Featured: Paper Mill Playhouse, 2004


South Pacific (Pulitzer Awarded in 1950)

Music: Richard Rodgers
Lyrics: Oscar Hammerstein II
Book: Oscar Hammerstein II & Joshua Logan (based on Tales of the South Pacific by James Michener)
Broadway Debut: 1949
Production Featured: Broadway Revival, 2008


Fiorello! (Pulitzer Awarded in 1960)

Music: Jerry Bock
Lyrics: Sheldon Harnick
Book: Jerome Weidman & George Abbott (based on Life with Fiorello by Ernest Cuneo)
Broadway Debut: 1959
Production Featured: New York City Center Encores, 2013


How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying (Pulitzer Awarded in 1962)

Music: Frank Loesser
Lyrics: Frank Loesser
Book: Abe Burrows, Jack Weinstock & Willie Gilbert (based on the book of the same name by Shepherd Mead)
Broadway Debut: 1961
Production Featured: Broadway Revival, 2011


A Chorus Line (Pulitzer Awarded in 1976)

Music: Marvin Hamlisch
Lyrics: Edward Kleban
Book: James Kirkwood Jr. & Nicholas Dante
Broadway Debut: 1975
Production Featured: New York City Center Encores, 2018


Sunday in the Park with George (Pulitzer Awarded in 1985)

Music: Stephen Sondheim
Lyrics: Stephen Sondheim
Book: James Lapine
Broadway Debut: 1984
Production Featured: Original Broadway Production


RENT (Pulitzer Awarded in 1996)

Music: Jonathan Larson
Lyrics: Jonathan Larson
Book: Jonathan Larson
Broadway Debut: 1996
Production Featured: Original Broadway Production


Next to Normal (Pulitzer Awarded in 2010)

Music: Tom Kitt
Lyrics: Brian Yorkey
Book: Brian Yorkey
Broadway Debut: 2009
Production Featured: Original Broadway Production


Hamilton (Pulitzer Awarded in 2016)

Music: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Lyrics: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Book: Lin-Manuel Miranda (based on Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow)
Broadway Debut: 2015
Production Featured: Original Broadway Production


Featuring powerful Canadian performances and an award-winning musical score, NEXT TO NORMAL will take over Toronto’s CAA Theatre April 26 – May 19 as part of the Off-Mirvish Series. To purchase your tickets to this exhilarating contemporary musical, click here.

Click here to get an exclusive first look at Ma-Anne Dionisio as Diana, singing an excerpt of ‘Just Another Day.’ See you at the theatre!